Lee Research Group Partners with Drexel to Create more Proficient Dye-Sensitized Solar Panels

The National Science Foundation has bestowed a three year grant to Daeyeon Lee's Research Group and Drexel University's Lau Research Group to develop more efficient dye-sensitized solar panels. This exciting endeavor could lead to advances in converting solar radiation into electricity.

To link to the full article, please click here.

Daeyeon Lee Receives KIChE President Young Investigator Award

Congratulations to Pennergy's Daeyeon Lee who has recieved the Korean Institute of Chemical Engineers' (KIChE) President Young Investigator Award! Daeyeon is an assistant professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and leads the Soft Nanomaterials Lab, which works to develop a deep understanding of the interactions between soft materials (e.g., polymers, colloids and biologicals, etc.) near or at interfaces.

To read more, please click here!

Karen Winey Named a 2013 MRS Fellow

Karen Winey, Pennergy Memeber and Materials Science and Engineering/Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Professor, has been named a 2013 Materials Research Society (MRS) Fellow for "outstanding contributions to the understanding of polymer nanocomposites and ion-containing polymers through rigorous and insightful experiments; distinguished leadership in the materials community."

To read more, please click here.

Dawn Bonnell Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Pennergy's Dawn Bonnell, who has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, alongside her UPenn colleagues, Vijay Kumar and Krishna P. Singh.

As the founding Director of the  Nano/Bio Interface Center (NBIC), Dawn has made outstanding contributions to  research programs that cross disciplinary boundaries, linking engineering and life science in a two-way exchange that advances our understanding of interactions at the interface of physical and biological systems.

Andy Jackson named a Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers

Andrew Jackson, Pennergy faculty member and Professor of Practice in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics, has been named a Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) for his "outstanding contributions in the field of tribology and lubrication science." Fellows of the SAE are long-term members who have made a significant impact on society's mobility technology through leadership, research and innovation.


To read more please visit here:

Student Awards Program in Fuel Cycle Research

The Office of Fuel Cycle Technologies of the U.S. Department of Energy is sponsoring the fourth annual Innovations in Fuel Cycle Research awards competition for students. The program is designed to:

Directed Assembly Research from Pennergy’s Shu Yang and Kathleen Stebe Enhances Control Over Liquid Crystals

A study led by Pennergy Faculty Members Shu Yang (Associate Professor in the School of Engineering and Applied Science’s departments of Materials Science and Engineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;) and Kathleen Stebe (Engineering’s vice dean for research and professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering) has produced findings that show us a small adjustment to an existing crystals can spontaneously adjust their pattern on demand.

Calvin Li Named Guest Editor for the Journal of Nanofluids, January 2013 Issue

Congratulations to Calvin Li, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Villanova University, and Pennergy Faculty Member, who has been named Guest Editor for the January 2013 issue of the Journal of Nanofluids. This issue aims at topics related to carbon nano material suspensions, emphasizing cutting edge frontiers in carbon nanotube and metal oxide nanoparticle nanofluid applications.

Kagan Research Group Increases Flexibility of Electronic Circuits with Nanocrystals

The Kagan Research Group, headed by Pennergy Co-Director Cherie Kagan, has recently made some enormous strides in increasing the pliancy of electronic circuits. Typically, these circuits are joined with unyielding pieces of silicon, whose rigidity currently limits their application in modern technology.

Pennergy Faculty Member Robert Ghrist Awarded the 2013 Chauvenet Prize

Congratulations to Robert Ghrist, the Andrea Mitchell University Professor, professor in the Departments of Electrical and Systems Engineering and Mathematics, and Pennergy faculty member, has been named the recipient of the 2013 Chauvenet Prize, the highest award attainable in the area of mathematical expository writing. Ghrist is recognized for his work, "Barcodes: The Persistent Topology of Data," published in the Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society 45 (2008).